Are You Paying Attention?

“Tell me what you pay attention to and I will tell you who you are.”

– José Ortega y Gasset

The last couple of years I’ve really started to pay attention to a lot of things. I have noticed how everyday stuff can really have a huge impact on me and how I feel.

I have been reminded of a lot of things and I have been paying a lot of attention to what’s going on inside of my head and in my surroundings.

Inside

Ever since I became aware of the second voice in my head, I have become aware of which thoughts are actually me, and which are not. I now notice when the ego is trying to take over and attempt to convince me of something bad or stupid. Becoming aware of this really changed a lot of things. One of them is that I’ve been able to control my actions more. I’m not saying that I’ve been perfect. I’ve definitely made some mistakes but I also learned from them for sure! Now I think and analyze a lot more before I act.
I am also really paying attention to what I eat, what I say, how my body feels and what causes the feelings inside me.

images-1.jpg

Another thing is I’ve become aware of how I speak to and about other people. Now I tend to notice when I say something bad or something that could hurt someone. I’ve started to analyze my conversations and try to find out what made me say the things I did. Did I really mean what I said, or was it just something I said to agree with someone or to be a part of a complaining conversation? I have learned so much from this. Not only to pay attention to what I’m saying, but also to notice how much the people around me actually complain and talk bad about other people.
Most of what is going on inside of us is a reaction caused by something on the outside. Therefore it’s so important to pay attention to our surroundings.

Outside

“You cannot expect to live a positive life if you hang with negative people.”
― Joel Osteen

Have you ever payed attention to how the people around you are talking to and about others and how they are treating them? It’s very important, because as humans we quickly adapt to our surroundings and the people around us. Are the ones closest to you being negative towards other people? Are they complaining a lot? Are they treating other people badly? Are they making you do things you don’t really want to? If they are and you’re not aware of this, you’ll quickly adopt their behavior. It’s said that we are the average of the five people we spend the most time with. Try to pay attention to how the people around you are talking and acting. Do they have a good or bad influence on you? Are you copying their behavior?

imgresBesides other people, there’s other things we should pay attention to. For example the things we are exposed to. What are you watching on TV? Are you one of those people who just HAVE to watch the news every day because “we have to know what’s going on in the world”? The thing is, the news always have something bad to say and they rarely show positive news. And besides we can’t always count on what they’re saying to be true. Often journalism is not about giving the true story, but rather about being the first to tell it. Trust me, if it’s that important you’ll hear about it anyway. Do something you enjoy instead or do your own research on things that’s actually relevant and beneficial to you.

Lately I’ve also been paying attention to what music I listen to. Music without a doubt has an enormous emotional impact on us. Have you ever tried being in a bad mood and then listened to a sad song and it just made you even sadder? I know I have, sometimes even on purpose.
I recently started deleting songs from my playlist, either because they didn’t make me feel good or they had a negative message. (If you know any good songs with a positive, important or strong message then please let me know in the comments below!)

But those things i just mentioned is just a part of it. We should remind ourself to pay attention on a regular basis. Not just to the people around us and music, but everything. Movies, the weather, our working space, what we eat and drink, what we read. Everything around and inside of us, bad and good.

We have to notice the things that has a bad influence on us in order to remove ourself from them or do something about it. The point is not just to pay attention to the bad, but to become aware of it in order to focus on the good. 

SO! Are you aware of your surroundings? Do you notice how they effect you? Are you REALLY paying attention?

 

Feel free to like and share if you enjoyed it, and please let me know what you think and if I can improve anything.

Please follow Reset Dennis on Facebook or my personal Instagram for updates on new posts!

Make a great day

– Dennis

You might also like Breathe – Reconnect With Your BodyOverthinking – You Are Not Your Thoughts and The Ego On Your Shoulder

4 thoughts on “Are You Paying Attention?

  1. So so true, when I became more aware of myself and my core values in life and started actually paying attention to certain things, my life changed drastically…. Thanks for the inspiration, couldn’t agree more as always!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

